My Facebook Wall: November 2011 ~ Out of Town until Nov. 29

I’m spending Thanksgiving vacation in Sichuan. I’ll see the cities of Chengdu and Chongqing and Jiuzhaigou National Park, among other things, and I’ll return November 29. I hope you all have wonderful holidays with your families!

1: Happy All Saints Day! (Louis Armstrong – “When the Saints Go Marching In”)
2: It’s All Souls Day. My thoughts are with the departed, including those whose memorial services I’ve attended: my grandfathers James Walter Smyth Sr. and William Franco-Velez, high school classmates Laura Steffel and Daniel Zixi Song, college classmate Chris Sanders, church music minister’s son Jacob Rund, and Muranaka-san, a Japanese coworker’s father.
4: The application for the JET Programme, my former employer which brought me to Japan to teach English, is now available! It’s due December 2.
6: 可遇而不可求: “can be found by chance but not by deliberate seeking”
8: Another example of sportswriting teaching me something about life.
10: Frankfort elects 23-year old mayor: By the way, Frankfort has a summer Hot Dog Festival, and its high school sports teams are known as the “Frankfort Hot Dogs”.
10: The Greatest Abstract of All Time
10: “Jokes can be noble. Laughs are exactly as honorable as tears. Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion, to the futility of thinking and striving anymore. I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning up to do afterward — and since I can start thinking and striving again that much sooner.” -Kurt Vonnegut

Explore posts in the same categories: Religion

Leave a Reply

