地域觀念的影響

地域觀念的影響
作者:史杰輝
編輯:周長楨

今天我的同學,思婷,說「半身插進土裡」的村民可能免不了討厭那個地方。我認爲她說得很中肯,所以先把這個思想加以分析。我學生時代常常用尖酸刻薄的話描寫我家鄉。即使我了解那是非常安全跟富有的地方,也以爲村民很淺薄、很高傲。作爲一個青少年,固然很容易流於批評人和事,不過理由不充足的話只是害人害己罷了。我如今的愛鄉土感情比任何時候都強烈。

進一步來説,除了我家鄉以外,我也住過在四個不同的地方,那就是杜克大學、馬德里、一座日本農村跟臺北,都各有千秋。在我腦海裡我管每一個地方都叫過「我家」。每到夢到某個地方的時候,我就知道我在那裡感到自在了。去年世界盃的時候我支持三個國家隊。錦標賽當天我四點起床看了比賽,西班牙勝利之後我就欣喜若狂。

我想這樣的觀點與傳統地域觀念有衝突,不過在這個國際化的社會裡類似我的人會一年比一年多。其實,不少居住在日本的移民哀嘆無論他們住在某個地方幾年,參加幾個當地活動,本地的人還是把他們看成旅客,問他們什麽時候要歸國。這是日本移民的苦衷,跟美國的情形截然不同。縱使日本人注意到移民有形的差異,不過至少得承認有日本血統不是當日本人的必要條件。大家都知道我珍惜我日本鄉下經驗,不過我也感到了這個不能跨越的隔閡。

反過來說,我在臺灣也屬於少數民族,不過我在這裡連一次也沒有被排斥,我覺得非常難得。ICLP的國際化固然扮演很重要的角色,不過我當地朋友也說因爲臺灣已經是多種民族的社會,也受過多種民族統治國家的影響,必然比較開放。到目前爲止,我所觀察到的臺灣的地域觀念簡直是微乎其微。

Regionalism’s Influence
Author: James Smyth
Editor: Zhou Chang-zhen

Today my classmate Stephanie said that some people who are “half-planted in their hometown soil” [a Chinese figure of speech] can’t help hating the place. I think this is very true, so first I’d like to expand on her thought. When I was a student, I often used sarcasm to describe my hometown. Even though I knew it was a very safe and prosperous place, I thought the people there were shallow and arrogant. When you’re an adolescent, it’s natural to criticize other people and things, but if you don’t have a good reason for it you’ll simply hurt yourself and others. My love for my hometown has never been stronger than it is now.

Taking it a step further, I’ve now lived in four other places: Duke University, Madrid, my Japanese farming village, and Taipei, each of which has its own great qualities. I’ve thought of each place as “my home” before. Whenever I start to dream of a place, I know I’ve become comfortable there. I supported three teams during last year’s World Cup. I woke up at 4 AM to watch the championship game, and I was celebrating all day after Spain won.

I imagine my attitude conflicts with traditional regionalism and nationalism, but in today’s internationalized society there are more people like me every year. To tell the truth, though, more than a few emigrants to Japan complain that no matter how many years they’ve lived there, and no matter how many local activities they’ve participated in, the natives see them as guests and ask them when they’re planning to return home. This is completely different from the emotional burden carried by, for example, an emigrant to America. Though the Japanese easily distinguish a person looks different, they should at least acknowledge that Japanese ancestry is not a necessary condition for being a Japanese person. You all know I treasured my experience in Japan, but I also felt this kind of distance from people when I lived there.

Though I am also a minority in Taiwan, I’ve never felt left out here, and I find that amazing. ICLP’s international atmosphere obviously plays a big role in that, but my Taiwanese friends also say that because their island already has so many ethnic groups, and it has been governed by many different nations, it has a more open society. As far as I can tell, Taiwanese-style “nationalism” is a rare thing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Japan, La Vida, Schoolwork, Spain, Taiwan, 中文

Leave a Reply

