My Facebook Wall: April 2011

3: Congratulations to Indian cricket and Indiana basketball for nervy victories today!
4: It’s Circle of Life-like to have Children’s Day and Tomb Sweeping Day back to back with the added irony that the day for new life is 4/4 though 4 symbolizes death, and the day for honoring departed ancestors is in the midst of spring. (Only Taiwan and Hong Kong put Children’s Day on 4/4. Tomb Sweeping Day is a Chinese holiday, and it’s on the 15th day after the spring equinox, typically 4/5.)
4: I’m looking forward to the day when there are more views for Justin Bieber’s “Baby” than there are people in China.
5: 清明節。 Peace be with those who have left this world or were taken from it.
5: In an excruciating night for Butler, the ball just would not go in – Joe Posnanski
7: Walkin’ home music
9: 我不能過更長的日子,只好更珍惜生活。 I can’t make my days any longer so I’ll just have to live more intensely.
10: How come I can’t even see that something is dirty until I start to clean it?
11: Though I practically wrote a novel about Japan, I’ve said very little about Taiwan. It’s not because I’m bored here; it’s because I’m peaceful. I’ve quite possibly never felt this comfortable with a place before.
12: Isn’t it great when technical support asks you to try out your broken thingamajig one more time for them, and at that moment it magically comes back to life, and all you can do is sheepishly say you’re sorry for bothering them?
14: It’s easier to enjoy life now that I’ve heard this song!
14: 勉強 means “studying” in Japanese and “forcing yourself to do something” in Chinese.
15: WSJ: “According to Internal Revenue Service data, the entire taxable income of everyone earning over $100,000 in 2008 was about $1.582 trillion. Even if all these Americans—most of whom are far from wealthy—were taxed at 100%, it wouldn’t cover Mr. Obama’s deficit for this year.”
16: 多虧我妹妹是編輯之女王,獎學金申請好多了!A big thank-you to my sister (“writing/editing sub-500 word statements is what I do at work all day every day”) for helping me so much with my scholarship application!
18: why is my mood so easily affected by the Yankees daily outcomes? The season is 162 games, and even the best lose 40% of the time. Take it week to week.
19: Resisting all the outside pressure to take matters seriously and mature (at all costs): important life skill #1. Maybe if we don’t get maturer, we won’t get older!
20: I’m out of town until the stone is rolled away on Saturday night.
20: Question of the Day: Does anyone actually button the top button on collared shirts? I’d bet clothing makers could save a few pennies if they purged that perfunctory piece of plastic. Most people button the top here, so I go along with them. One day at school I didn’t, and the kids were like “wow, you have chest hair!”
23: 「妳們為什麼在死人中找活人呢﹖衪不在這裡了,衪已復活了。你們應當記得:衪還在加里肋亞時,怎樣告訴過你們說:人子必須被交付於罪人之手,被釘在十字架上,並在第三日復活。」 Luke 24:5-7
30: If I sleep at 12, I wake up at 6. If I sleep at 10, I wake up at 4. When did I become a farmer?

Explore posts in the same categories: La Vida

Leave a Reply

