我狩獵收集者的生活 ~ My Hunter-Gatherer Lifestyle

我狩獵收集者的生活
作者:史杰輝
編輯:周長楨

我最近一次因爲生病的緣故請假是十年前,可是那天我們正在搬家,因此連當時候我都沒辦法休息,只好幫我父母。我怎麽這麽健康呢?當然最重要的原因是我走運,可是我生活習慣跟我健康也有很大的關係。

我爸爸的榜樣對我有很大的影響。我媽媽説我爸爸一直以健康生活爲主,連大學的時候跟他一起吃飯都需要有耐心,因爲他的營養標準特別高。他最喜歡的肉就是魚肉,我們每個聖誕節都送給他一條鮭魚。無論我們在吃什麽,他都要加橄欖油。我每個星期跟他聊天的時候,他就告訴我他新的生活習慣。(去年是舉重,今年是氣功。)其實,因爲一般人不相信他已經五十八嵗,再加上他一點肥胖症也沒有,可見他保持健康的方法很有效率。

作者主張運動和勞動,跟我的觀念是一致的。我個人認爲現代久坐的生活不適合我們人類的本性。從小我父母就鼓勵我天天運動,我從三嵗起開始游泳,參加球隊。高中的時候,我參加了賽跑隊。跑了九年的步以後我膝蓋常常疼痛,所以我把游泳當作了主要的運動。在ICLP開學之後我一直擔心時間,所以還沒有找到游泳的機會,可是每天起床以後都伸展、舉重一下,每兩天都會藉著騎宿舍的健身車、空的人行道、樓梯來訓練。

你們都還記得小時候學過的「食物錐」吧?我從接受那個知識來每天都要吃豐富多彩的食物。「今日臺灣」說蘭嶼島的雅美族人世代依賴捕魚、種芋維持生活。我很想試吃這個飲食。因爲人類的祖先每天都要狩獵或是收集食物,他們的食量少可是營養很豐富。我們之所以以大米和小麥爲主食不是因爲他們有最足夠的營養,而是因爲最適合大量種。我最喜歡的外國菜不是它們的美食,而是他們最健康的食物,譬如說西班牙的橄欖、日本的味噌湯跟苦瓜跟灣的地瓜、芝麻、水果等等。

我最近也發現我們所吃的份量也很重要。我這五年來變瘦了十三公斤左右,也更有精神了,原因在於我越來越「聼身體的話」。所謂「聼身體的話」的意思是我覺得肚子不餓了就不再吃。何以見得這有道理呢?我在日本爬屋久島跟富士山的時候發現吃太多讓爬山更難。因爲當時我正在運動,我明白我做功課的時候應該吃更少。我也發現每三個小時吃一點比每天都吃三大餐有效率。我們應該爲了做更多活動吃東西或是爲了吃更多東西做活動呢?我不是禁止大家吃炒的食物,然而我覺得我們應該注意卡路里攝取。擧一個例子來説,我覺得可口可樂適合當做飯後甜點,我不能接受美國人以這種軟性飲料來代替水的習慣。

我連覺得不舒服的時候也不吃葯。我聽説細菌可能適應我們的葯物,所以我不想給細菌機會變得更強,也不想讓我身體太依靠葯,免得上癮。我也絕不抽煙,不常喝酒,那不等於我有健康的生活,可是對我一定有幫助。

我跟爸爸有相同的健康觀點,可是也有他的缺點,就是睡眠不夠。古代,天黑了以後溫度也下降了,人民沒有力氣繼續活動,只好睡覺。現代的社會不一樣了,可以24小時繼續工作或是玩。我也是不願意停下活動而就寢。可是我也習慣提早起床,連假日也六點鐘自然地醒來。老師跟同學們常常說我看起來很累,可見我要調整生活,早一點做功課,早一點休息。

總而言之,雖然我們不必像祖先忍受物資不夠的狀況,可是我們還是應該繼續他們的好習慣。

My Hunter-Gatherer Lifestyle
Author: James Smyth
Editor: Zhou Chang-zhen

The last time I took a sick day was ten years ago, but my family was moving to another home that day, so instead of resting I helped my parents. Why am I so healthy? The most important reason is good fortune, obviously, but my lifestyle also plays an important role.

My father’s example has made a big impression on me. My mother says that healthy living has always been important to him, and even as a college student it took some patience to dine with him because his nutritional standards were so high. His favorite kind of meat is fish; every Christmas, we give him a salmon. He adds olive oil to whatever we’re eating. When I talk to him each week, he tells me about his new lifestyle habit. (Last year, it was weightlifting, and this year, it’s breathing exercises.) But seriously, no one believes he’s already 58 years old, and he isn’t a pound overweight, so it’s easy to see his techniques are effective.

The author of Thought and Society advocates exercise and physical labor, and I’m in agreement with him. I believe that our present-day sedentary lifestyles don’t suit human nature. My parents have always encouraged me to exercise daily: I’ve swum and played on sports teams since I was three. In high school, I ran long distance. After running for nine years, my knees started to ache, so I made swimming my primary sport. I’ve been worried about time ever since I started studying at ICLP, so I haven’t made room for swimming, but I stretch and lift weights every day after I wake up, and every other day I ride the dormitory’s exercise bike, run on a free sidewalk, and climb stairwells.

Do you remember the food pyramid? Ever since learning about it, I’ve tried to eat various kinds of food every day. Taiwan Today says the Yamei tribe on Lanyu Island have lived on fish and sweet potatoes for generations. I’d like to try their diet. Because our ancestors had to hunt or gather their food, their diet was small in quantity but abundant in nutrition. We’ve made rich and wheat our staple foods because they’re the easiest to mass-produce, not because they’re the most nutritious. My favorite foods from foreign countries are their healthiest dishes, not their most famous ones, for example Spanish olives, Japanese miso soup and bitter melon, Taiwanese sweet potatoes, sesame, and fruit, and so forth.

Lately I’ve realized that the amount one eats is important, as well. Over the last five years, I’ve lost about 13 kg (29 lb), but I have more energy than before. That’s because I’m listening to my body more. “Listening to my body” means that when I don’t feel hungry anymore, I stop eating. How did I realize this made sense? When I was hiking on Yakushima and Mount Fuji in Japan, eating too much made it harder for me to climb. Because I was exercising at that very moment, I realized that when I was doing homework or the like, I should eat even less. I also realized that eating a little every three hours is more efficient than having three big meals. Should we eat to live or live to eat? I’m not one to restrict fried food, but I do think we should count calories. For example, I think Coca-Cola is a good dessert, but I can’t abide by its status as a substitute for water in America.

Even when I don’t feel well, I don’t take medicine. I heard that viruses can adapt to our drugs, so I don’t want to give them a chance to get stronger; nor do I want to become dependent. I also rarely drink and never smoke; that in itself doesn’t mean I have a healthy lifestyle, but it definitely helps.

My father and I have the same perspective on health, but we also have the same weakness: we don’t sleep enough. In the old days, when it got dark, the temperature dropped, and people didn’t have the energy to do anything else, so they simply went to bed. Today’s society is different; you can work or play 24 hours a day. I don’t like to stop working and go to sleep, myself. But I’m also an early riser; I naturally get up early even on holidays. My teachers and classmates often say I look tired, a clear sign I need to adjust my lifestyle and do my homework a little faster so I can go to bed earlier.

In conclusion, though we don’t need to live in poverty like our ancestors, we should still continue their good habits.

Explore posts in the same categories: La Vida, Schoolwork, 中文

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

