Dark Night

I very rarely have nightmares. I did on Saturday.

I was taking a trip to the beach with a potential girlfriend and her father. I went around the back of our motel and found two things wrapped in newspapers. They were the bloody corpses of aborted children. My mind blew up their size (they were as big as three-year olds) but told me what they were. I knelt back there and wept over them, Pieta-style.

I tried to come back to the house and tell people what had happened. A couple of her family’s friends were visiting. I couldn’t say anything. I just kept crying. Then I showed them what I was holding.

I woke up with stiffness in my legs. Physical pain never snaps my eyes open. Then I thought of this sentence: “For Zion’s sake, I will not be silent” [Isaiah 62:1].

Facts on Induced Abortion in the United States

I’m not going to argue today about whether or not abortion should be legal. I think sometimes we are so caught up in the legal and political arguments about that that we don’t make time to consider a couple of equally important questions: whether it is moral and whether it is regrettable.

This video of what fetuses look like in the womb helps make the topic real. This story might have inspired my nightmare. You don’t have to be pro-life to feel sorrow about what happens during an abortion. It’s something we should all understand.

I sometimes assume that because the contemporary West is at the vanguard of history, it is also more morally developed than its ancestors. Yes, generally speaking, we are blessed with freedom, equality, safety, and tolerance. But not all changes are good, and some things are forgotten.

This is not a hospitable world for the conceived. Hundreds of millions, about a third of my generation in the U.S., have been aborted. Sex-selective abortion is so common in the East that it is destabilizing the gender balance of several countries, including China and India.

We should help make it easier for women to bring their children into this world. And I pray I will remember to lift up my deceased brothers and sisters in prayer, as I did the morning after this dream.

Explore posts in the same categories: Religion

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

