Tweets of December

12/1: The End of Advent by Joseph Bottum: If you’re ever weary of Christmas by the 25th, the solution might be a change of approach.
12/2: I’m writing an important essay for a scholarship application this weekend. Prayers, please!
12/3: FIFA’s choices of Russia and Qatar show its desire to leave a legacy by Gabriele Marcotti: “Qatar, with its projected budget of at least $50 billion…outdoor air conditioning, new stadiums built ex novo (some of which will supposedly be dismantled brick-by-brick and shipped to some needy developing nation), tiny population, and nonexistent public transportation…says: FIFA is so powerful that it can make an entire country grind to a halt and turn itself into a gigantic soccer amusement park.”
12/8: I stumbled upon an annual Keanu Reeves Film Festival in my dreams last night.
12/8: Criticism of one’s resume draft is oddly gratifying: “This needs work…because I think you are MORE amazing than this. Here, let me re-frame your life story.”
12/11: My appetite has had the same career arc as Allen Iverson. It got going in 1996, stayed strong for more than a decade, then fell off so much that now whenever it tells me “Thanks! I’m full!” I think “But we just started! What happened to you?!” Maybe Turkey will revive my game when I come home for Christmas. (Allen Iverson is playing basketball in Turkey now, and I’d like some turkey because it’s as hard to find here as it was in Japan. The First Thanksgiving may be like Santa Claus, but one thing that is NOT a myth is that turkey and cranberry sauce are as American as you and me.)
12/16: The number one image of “toast” on Google is hot bread all right, but it has President Obama’s face on it. All I wanted was some butter!
12/18: I’ll be in Indiana from the 19th to the 29th!
12/23: I saw in Entertainment Weekly that “The Hunger Games” book series is catching on, and I’m wondering if Beat Takeshi (“Battle Royale”) will get any royalties.
12/24: If your name were scored Scrabble style, how many points would you get? My first name is 14, middle is 14, last is 13. Just barely imperfect.
12/25: Glória in excélsis Deo et in terra pax homínibus bonae voluntátis. Laudámus te, benedícimus te, adorámus te, glorificámus te, grátias ágimus tibi propter magnam glóriam tuam, Dómine Deus, Rex cæléstis, Deus Pater omnípotens.
12/31: I returned to Taipei in time to see my class schedule, “Norwegian Wood,” and fireworks. Winter never felt so warm!

Explore posts in the same categories: Movies and TV, Religion, Sports

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

