Falling Seven Times, Rising Eight: A Founding Father of Video Games

Source: 読売新聞 七転八起 「ゲーム時代 先取り」 辻本憲三 69歳 カプコン会長

Kenzo Tsujimoto

A Founding Father of Video Games
Kenzo Tsujimoto, Age 69, Chairman of Capcom

“Managing a confectionery got me into video games.”
After graduating from high school, I worked at a relative’s wholesale store until I opened a confectionery in Osaka at the age of 25. But it was the cotton candy machine, not the treats, that brought the kids into the store. After you paid, the bowl would spin, and it was sort of like a game. After I realized that, I turned the management of the store over to my wife and started hawking those machines.

While I was traveling the country, I turned a pachinko machine into a 10-yen-per-spin game, and the kids would try their luck on it over and over. “What people want most, after food, clothing, and shelter, is enjoyment,” I thought, so I resolved to go into the gaming business.

At first I purchased game machines and resold them, but after receiving thousands of orders from across the country, I thought it would be more profitable to make the machines myself, so in 1974 I established a company. Soon after that, “Space Invaders” arrived. After we licensed it from Taito, there were a huge rush of orders.

But the boom wouldn’t last long. Copycat games flourished, and we ended up with a supply glut. After covering our losses, I stepped down from the company.

Resurrection Thanks to the Goodwill of a Competitor
After I lost my job, Mr. Michael Kogan, President of Taito, reached out to me. He said that he would invest in anything I wanted to do in the gaming industry. I was so grateful. He passed away soon after, but even now, I visit his grave whenever I travel to Los Angeles.

Riding the Wave of the Gaming Age
With his investment, I founded Capcom in 1983. That same year, Nintendo launched the Family Computer [US Name: Nintendo Entertainment System]. At first, we designed games primarily for arcades, and when they were hits, we released them on the Famicom [NES].

I anticipated the demand for games that were like Disney movies, so I pushed for clear and colorful graphics and that feeling of liveliness and immediacy. The fruit of our efforts was Street Fighter 2. It hit the arcades in 1991, but its release on the new Super Famicom [Super Nintendo] made it a huge hit.

Strike Two
But our developers’ tight grasp on production rights started to noticeably increase our costs and damage the company. A number of games were losing money. As a result, we seized the authority from those administrators and halted production on our unprofitable products. Opposition inside the company was strong, but I firmly stated, “If you can’t go along with this, then quit.” Some did.

Becoming the Chairman in 2007 and Working for the Future
We split the responsibilities of the President into the roles of CEO and COO, and I dedicated myself to being Chief Executive Officer. I don’t move around as much now, but in my opinion, by focusing on the numbers I can watch over the company more now than I did as President.

I want to retire early and pass a good situation on to my successor. Since our company grew so quickly, however, we don’t have many managers in their 50s, and those in their 40s and below need more training. I’ll keep my nose to the grindstone so I can ensure stability for the most important members of the company, our shareholders and customers.

Kenzo Tsujimoto with Daughter

Hideki Kishimoto, a staff writer for the business section who is based in Osaka, conducted this interview.

Kenzo Tsujimoto was born in Nara in 1940. In 1960, he graduated from Unebi High School in the same prefecture. He sold game machines and established Capcom in 1983. He has held his current position since July 2007. Since 1997, he has served as Director for the Association of Copyright for Computer Software, organizing countermeasures against game piracy and the like. He is also a wine aficionado who privately established a brewery in California.

Capcom is a domestic game producer. Its name is an abbreviation for “Capsule Computer.” By referring to game software as a “capsule,” it refers to said software as a finished product and warns against illegal copies. “Devil Kings,” its 2005 game about the Warring States Period, caught the attention of young women and helped reignite interest in that era. Its revenues in the third quarter of 2010 were 66.8 billion yen, its highest ever. Company headquarters are based in Osaka’s Chuo District.

辻本憲三(つじもとけんぞう) 69歳 カプコン会長

<菓子店経営が、ゲームに関心を持つきっかけだった>

高校を卒業し、親類の食品問屋を手伝うなどした後、大阪市内で菓子店を開いたのが25歳の時です。でも、菓子そのものより、店先に置いた綿菓子製造機の前で子供たちが行列を作っていることに関心を持ちました。お金を入れると台が回って綿菓子ができる機械で、半分はゲームのようなものです。これは当たると思い、店を妻に任せて機械の行商をやるようになりました。

全国を回っているうち、今度は、パチンコ台を改造した1回10円のゲーム機に、子供たちが何度も挑戦しているのが目にとまりました。「人間の欲望の対象は、衣食住の次にゲームなどの娯楽に移る」と考え、ゲームビジネスの将来性にかけようと決めました。

最初はゲーム機を仕入れて販売していましたが、全国から何千台もの注文を受けたので、自分で作った方がもうかると考え、1974年に製造会社を設立しました。しばらくして到来したのが「インベーダーゲーム」ブームです。製造元のタイトーからライセンスを得て販売を始めると、注文が殺到しました。

でも、ブームは長く続きませんでした。まねたゲームを扱う業者が増え、供給過剰になったからです。大量の在庫を抱えたため、会社の損失を補填(ほてん)した上で社長を退きました。

<同業者の善意で“復活”。ゲーム時代の潮流に乗った>

失業した私に支援の手をさしのべてくれたのは、タイトー創業者のミハイル・コーガン氏です。ゲーム業界で何かやるなら資金を出す、というありがたい話を頂きました。コーガン氏は間もなく亡くなりましたが、今でも、氏が永眠している米ロサンゼルスを訪れる際は墓参を欠かしません。

提供された資金を元に83年、カプコンを設立しました。任天堂が家庭用テレビゲーム機「ファミリーコンピュータ」を発売したのも同じ年です。当初はゲームセンターに設置する業務用が主力で、ゲームセンターでヒットしたものをファミコンに展開しました。
「スト2」で成果
約40年前 ゲーム機販売で全国を飛び回っていた頃。家族で訪れた橿原神宮(奈良県橿原市)にて

ディズニーの劇場アニメのような映像がゲームに求められる時代が来ると考え、鮮明な画像や臨場感にこだわりました。その成果が出たのが格闘ゲーム「ストリートファイター2」です。91年に業務用が、92年に任天堂の新型機「スーパーファミコン」用が大ヒットしました。

ただ、開発担当者がソフトの制作権限を握って莫大(ばくだい)なコストをかける体制の弊害が目立ち始め、不採算のソフトも増えていました。このため、制作権限を経営陣などにも分散し、利益が出そうにないソフト開発は中止しました。社内から強い反発を受けましたが、「従えないのなら会社を辞めろ」と強い態度で臨み、会社を去る人もいました。

<2007年に会長に就任。後進の育成に力を注ぐ>

経営全体を見渡す最高経営責任者(CEO)と、現場に責任を持つ最高執行責任者(COO)の役割をはっきり分け、私はCEOとして経営の監督に専念することにしました。現場には足を運びませんが、数字を通して、社長時代よりしっかりチェックできていると思います。

次の人に任せて大丈夫、という状況を早く作って引退したい。ただ、急成長した企業なので、次の経営を担う50歳代の社員が少なく、40歳代以下をまだまだ鍛える必要があります。企業にとって一番大切な社員、投資家、お客様に貢献できる安定した体制を整えるため、しばらくは口をはさむつもりです。

(聞き手 大阪経済部 岸本英樹)

(略歴)1940年奈良県生まれ。60年同県立畝傍(うねび)高卒。ゲーム機販売などを経て83年にカプコン創業。2007年7月から現職。97年からコンピュータソフトウェア著作権協会理事長を務め、ゲームソフトの海賊版対策などにも取り組む。ワイン愛好家としても知られ、私費を投じて米カリフォルニアに醸造所を設立した。
《こんな会社》

国内有数のゲームソフトメーカー。社名は「カプセルコンピューター」の略で、ゲームソフトの「カプセル」となって違法なコピー商品から守るという意味が込められている。戦国武将が登場する2005年発売のアクションゲーム「戦国BASARA」は若い女性の関心を集め、戦国ブームの火付け役となった。10年3月期の連結売上高は668億円。本社は大阪市中央区。
(2010年8月19日 読売新聞)

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, Japan, Translations, Video Games

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

