一年的計劃/台湾的生活情形 ~ My Plans for the Year and My Life in Taiwan

一年的計劃
作者:史杰輝
編輯:陳盈樺

我喜歡旅行。在台灣的十一個月以内,我希望去三個地方:沖繩,熊本,和太魯閣。因爲我想參加電子報,所以忙著學中文,雖然還沒打算什麽時候去這些地方,可是我並不擔心。
另外,我得決定明年的工作。因爲我對語言有興趣,所以我要找和語言有關的機會。
還有,我重視生活的平衡,所以每個星期都運動,看報,學唱中文歌,也學學新活動,像書法,古箏,等等。
而且,跟往常一樣,每個禮拜祈禱,去教會,跟別的教徒談話。
爲了不把日文和西班牙文忘掉,我也要常常練習。
事事無常。因此我要好好地享受每分每秒的生活。

My Plans for the Year
Author: James Smyth
Editor: Chen Ying-hua

I love to travel.
I like traveling. During the next 11 months in Taiwan, I want to visit three places: Okinawa, Kumamoto, and Taroko Gorge. Since I want to write for the ICLP Bulletin, I’ve been too busy studying Chinese to make plans, but I’m not too worried about it.
I should decide where I’ll work next year. Since I’m interested in language, I should find an occupation related to that.
I also think having a balanced life is very important, so every week I’m exercising, reading the news, learning how to sing Chinese songs, and studying new pursuits like calligraphy and the zither.
As always, I’m going to church every week to pray and to talk to the priest and other believers.
Since I don’t want to forget Spanish and Japanese, I need to practice them.
Nothing is permanent. Hence, I must enjoy every moment of my life here.

台湾的生活情形
作者:史杰輝
編輯:陳盈樺

親愛的朋友,
你好。那麽晚才給你寄信,真不好意思。該做的事情實在太多了。又要學中文,又要習慣新生活,其實我實在沒有時間睡覺。臺灣雙十節遊行倒提醒了我,我們上個暑假一邊看獨立紀念日遊行,一邊聊天。日子過得很快。我很期待下個聖誕節和你相會。

我一開學,就沉浸于學中文之中。我越練習越習慣,可是語法懂得還不多,所以寫文章很辛苦。可是,別擔心!我不但每天進步,而且想繼續保持這樣滿足的感覺。所以我每天努力且生氣勃勃地上課!

我還做什麽活動呢?因爲明年我想找國際性的,跟語言有關的工作,所以我每天在部落格上寫文章,不是描述過去的生活就是譯文,要不然就是寫新聞,什麽的。每兩天騎自行車運動一次。一個星期以内做的活動真不少,像參加天主教會的彌撒,跟大學生的教徒和神父談話,彈古箏,學書法,這樣的。每兩個星期跟同學唱中文歌,去校外旅行一次。有時候也有特別的活動呢!

臺灣人大部分都很好,我的同學和老師也都很友善。希望你的生活讓你和我一樣充實!

祝你秋天快樂!

史杰輝

My Life in Taiwan
Author: James Smyth
Editor: Chen Ying-hua

My dear friend,
I’m embarrassed I’ve taken so long to write you. There’s really so much I have to do. Between studying Chinese and adapting to my new life, I haven’t even had time to sleep. But Taiwanese National Day reminded me of the Fourth of July, when we talked while watching the parade together. The days pass so quickly. I’m really looking forward to seeing you at Christmas.

I’ve been immersed in Chinese ever since classes started. The more I study, the better I get, but there’s a lot of grammar I don’t know, so writing compositions is really difficult. Don’t worry! Not only am I improving every day, but I want to continue feeling the kind of satisfaction I do right now, so I’ll keep coming to class full of spirit!

What else am I doing? Since I’d like to do an international and language-related job, I’m posting in a blog every day: if not descriptions of past experiences, then translations or news. I’m riding an exercise bike every day. I have more than a few weekly activities, such as going to Mass, meeting with college students and a priest for small group discussion, playing the zither, and studying calligraphy. Every other week I study how to sing Chinese songs and go on a field trip. Other things come up, too!

Taiwanese people are very nice on the whole, and so are my classmates and teachers. I hope you’re as satisfied with your life as I am with mine!

Have a happy autumn!

James Smyth

Explore posts in the same categories: Interesting Places, La Vida, Schoolwork, 中文

Leave a Reply

