Problems with my Objectivist Professor

The trouble with Objectivists is that they think they’re objective. This is a special problem because one of this school’s (Objectivism’s) most unique traits is its misinterpretation of certain terms, movements, institutions, and philosophers. Half of the work I do for Philosophy 56S (named “Reason, Virtue, and Rights in History” but actually an exercise in indoctrination) is checking my professor’s distortions of the truth. Dr. Gary Hull is a leading member of the Ayn Rand Institute and an editor of her books, and he has already given us a logically frivolous proof against the existence of God, lies about the teachings of major religions, Aristotle, and Immanuel Kant, and a misrepresentation of the state of philosophy during the Middle Ages. Part of the problem is that he isn’t a real Philosophy teacher; he used his pull in the academic world to snag this class against the will of the Philosophy Department. I don’t mind having such an adversarial teacher because he inspires me to do research which makes my faith stronger, but he sometimes frustrates me. Henceforth, I will research each professor before I decide to spend a semester with him.

I’m sure that I’m not the only person who has experienced this dilemma. To my friends experiencing the same, I say: keep your faith, and check your sources. We must be wary of people who base sound logic on unsound facts.

Explore posts in the same categories: Philosophy

Leave a Reply

